I AM GUILTY

thC3VK9BD4

Just the thought of me writing this is a bit tricky, knowing that I would be speaking out my own guilt. You must be wondering which confession I am is so ready to make, but well you will soon find out.

“I am guilty of being selfish, thinking that I deserve that position more than the other person,

I am guilty of thinking that my time is more precious to keep waiting than the other person,

I am guilty of throwing away that ice-cream can, that sweet wrapper, because anyway it’s someone’s job,

I am guilty of giving that security man a few coins to allow me not to make the queue,

I am guilty of giving that traffic officer a few notes to pardon me,

I am guilty of not filing my KRA returns faithfully,

I am guilty of going to ‘speak’ to the head-master to allow my child to be admitted in school,

I am guilty of sending my child with five shillings for sweets so that he could go to the shop,

I am guilty……….

I am just so guilty.”

I have a question to pose, who of us bribed God or their parents, to be brought to this earth? Tough and harsh question I know, but it saddens me when we have the mentality that to gain the best of anything then you have to give out something (Goodwill as we sugar-coat it).

As we talk of the Lord being our shepherd, we shall not be in want, why then do we again quote,”The Lord helps those who help themselves.”At that point where you really need something and urgently (be it that title deed, Visa, Passport, position in an organization) you want to help yourself by bribing because you feel so ‘desperate’ you cannot wait for God to work through. Then what is the point in praying and waiting upon God? Yes, its human nature we all want to get the best, and again, from economics we learn that resources are scarce, from science we learn that the battle is for the fittest. However, we fail to learn from Christ “Nothing is impossible with God.” He is able to do it for you; you don’t realize at that that moment that by being corrupt as much as you will finally get all you need, you will be making yourself more vulnerable to whoever you are bribing. Stop stooping too low, we serve a mighty God.

As you give your tithe in church today, is it exactly a tenth of what you get? Because I know you wouldn’t give to God a tenth of the ‘stolen’ money, that’s enough reason you shouldn’t have it in the first place.

Titus 1:15-16-To the pure all things are pure, but to those who are defiled and unbelieving, nothing is pure, but both their mind and their conscience are defiled. They profess to know God, but by their deeds they deny Him, being detestable and worthless for any good deed.

As the church , we have accepted to be labeled the worst label anyone could wish for,LUKE-WARM.We have accepted to compromise too much and accepted to categorize ‘small’ and ‘big’ sins. We are so quick to condemn the ‘big’ sins, especially those done by those in high positions. We magnify them so much forgetting the log in our own eyes. Why is it that we are confusing giving bribes to a way of ‘saying thank-you’ as we like to put it? Do you appreciate so that you can get something?

Even that church land was is acquired legally? Did that pastor follow the right protocol for appointment? That school and unions in the church, are the finances being managed by the right people? Why are we busy preaching about the good things the Lord will do in our lives, the beautiful families, excellent jobs, financial break-through etc, and forgetting the most important part-OUR SOULS. Jesus as well as John the Baptist was not shy to condemn the evils in society. What happens if the 80% of us in Kenya stood for what is right, as the name Christians suggests-following Christ, and we start the journey of transformation and doing what is right and living a pure conscience each moment you live? Let our deeds profess our faith, let us fight those little hidden actions that we do under the table and are even ashamed of saying. Let us face it, we are all guilty.

Accepting that we are all guilty is step number one, number two is realizing that this is a monster in our lives and in our children’s lives we need to face and fight, number three is seeking God for direction and allowing Him to be our guide as we actively fight, number four is taking the step of faith confidently and working on facing out corruption .I know that this is going to be a tough journey because this is the culture we have all been brought up with, knowing that we can always get away with anything.

I am ready to change, I am ready to be among the chosen few, and will you join me? Remember, we are all guilty, the question is, what are you doing about it?

By Mercy Karumba.

Leave a Reply

